Recent Arrivals from Penguin Audio

January 14, 2009
Filed under: Recent Arrivals 

SFFaudio Recent Arrivals

These four audiobooks by Stephen King are actually reprints, I believe for the first time on CD. All four are novellas from the 1982 collection called Different Seasons. They are excellent stories, and they are read by one of my all-time favorite narrators: the late Frank Muller.

The Shawshank Redemption by Stephen KingThe Shawshank Redemption
aka Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption
By Stephen King; Read by Frank Muller
4 CDs – 4 hours – [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Published: 2008
ISBN: 9780143143956

A man convicted of murder lives in a prison brutally ruled by a sadistic warden and secretly run by a con who knows all the ropes and pulls all the strings. Made into a movie called The Shawshank Redemption.
 
 
The Body by Stephen KingThe Body
By Stephen King; Read by Frank Muller
5 CDs – 6 hours – [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Published: 2008
ISBN: 9780143143925

Four rambunctious young boys plunge through the façade of a small town and come face-to-face with life, death, and intimations of their own mortality. The film Stand By Me is based on this novella.
 
 
The Breathing Method by Stephen KingThe Breathing Method
By Stephen King; Read by Frank Muller
3 CDs – 3 hours – [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Published: 2008
ISBN: 9780143143932

A disgraced woman is determined to triumph over death.
 
 
Apt Pupil by Stephen KingApt Pupil
By Stephen King; Read by Frank Muller
6 CDs – 7 hours – [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Published: 2008
ISBN: 9780143143963

Todd Bowden is one of the top students in his high school class and a typical American sixteen-year-old–until he becomes obsessed about the dark and deadly past of an older man in town. The inspiration for the film of the same name.
 
 
 
A high tech thriller!
Daemon by Daniel SuarezDaemon
By Daniel Suarez; Read by Jeff Gurner with Garet Scott
13 CDs – 16 hours – [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Published: 2008
ISBN: 9780143144441

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can’t always be said for the people who design them.

Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer—the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company’s stock price. But Sobol’s fans aren’t the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol’s secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it’s up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy—or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .

Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

Posted by Scott D. Danielson

Similar Posts:

Comments