SSS presents: Lost Sorceress Of The Silent Citadel by Michael Moorcock

SFFaudio Online Audio

Star Ship SofaThe latest podcast from Star Ship Sofa is supposed to be pure Space Opera – and it is, if you don’t count my good friend Tony recounting the frightening brush with mortality that precedes Moorcock’s tale (that story is pure Horror). I hope we can all take a lesson from Tony’s incident and get our workplace helmets on before we get too excited about podcasting.

The reading that follows is just what we need after Tony’s tale, an unabridged reading of a 2002 Moorcock novelette called Lost Sorceress Of The Silent Citadel. Its an escapist, fannish, fun on Mars! A Space Opera, a “Planetary Romance”, an ode to Leigh Brackett, read by Mr. Fun himself Steve Eley! Enjoy…

Lost Sorceress Of The Silent Citadel by Michael MoorcockLost Sorceress Of The Silent Citadel
By Michael Moorcock; Read by Steve Eley
1 |MP3| – Approx. 90 Minutes [UNABRIDGED]
Podcaster: StarShipSofa.com
Podcast: December 5th 2007
They came on the Earthling naked, somewhere in the Shifting Desert when Mars’s harsh sunlight beat through thinning atmosphere and the sand was raw glass cutting into bare feet. His skin hung like filthy rags from his bloody flesh. He was starved, filthy, making noises like an animal. He was raving — empty of identity and will. What had the ghosts of those ancient Martians done to him?

Good healing to you Tony!

Posted by Jesse Willis

StarShipSofa has MP3 fiction: London Bone by Michael Moorcock

SFFaudio Online Audio

Star Ship SofaIt seems the StarShipSofa boys blagged their way into a goldmine of goodness from none other than Michael Moorcock! There’s already been a “gonzo” podcast about their Paris adventure. Still to come is a video (and audio – we hope) edition of the actual extended interview. And, today saw the release of some fiction – an unabridged reading of a 1997 Moorcock short story called London Bone. This tale comes in as the first of a new regular (or semi-regular) feature of Wednesday podcast releases of short stories on SSS.

London Bone by Michael MoorcockLondon Bone
By Michael Moorcock; Read by MCL
1 |MP3| – Approx. 1 Hour [UNABRIDGED]
Podcaster: StarShipSofa.com
Podcast: November 28th 2007
My name is Raymond Gold and I’m a well-known dealer. I was born too many years ago in Upper Street, Islington. Everybody reckons me in the London markets and I have a good reputation in Manchester and the provinces. I have bought and sold, been the middleman, an agent, an art representative, a professional mentor, a tour guide, a spiritual bridge-builder. These days I call myself a cultural speculator.

Posted by Jesse Willis

Elric of Melnibone on Audible

SFFaudio News

Thanks to SFFaudio reader Esther for pointing out that the Audio Realms unabridged (and Excellent) Elric of Melnibone by Michael Moorcock is Audible.com‘s Selection of the Day! That means you can get this Excellent title for $9.95 today only. Don’t miss it!

Science Fiction Audiobooks - Elric of Melnibone by Michael MoorcockElric of Melniboné
By Michael Moorcock, Read By Jeffrey West and Michael Moorcock
5 CD’s – 5.5 Hour [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Audio Realms
Published: 2003
ISBN: 097315960X
Themes: / Epic Fantasy / Magic / War / Gods /

Click here for SFFaudio’s rave review of this title, from 6/29/2005.

Ed – $9.95 is the non-member price. The member price is only $6.97.

Posted by Scott D. Danielson

2006 starts with some fine titles: Anne Manx on A…

SFFAudio Header New Releases

2006 starts with some fine titles:

Anne Manx on Amazonia, audio drama from Radio Repertory Company of America, starring Claudia Christian, Pat Tallman, and Barbara Harris
This audio drama is excellent entertainment – a comic book for your ears!

Battlestar Galactica: The Miniseries by Jeffrey A. Carver, read by Jonathan Davis, Audio Renaissance, Abridged
In the tradition of Star Trek and Star Wars audiobooks, here’s the first audiobook from the best current show on television.

The Door into Summer by Robert A. Heinlein, read by Patrick Lawlor, Blackstone Audio, Unabridged
Click here to listen to a sample.
Another classic Heinlein novel from Blackstone Audio!

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: Quandary Phase by Douglas Adams, performed by BBC Radio, Audio Partners
The penultimate Hitchhiker’s radio show.

H.P. Lovecraft Collection – Volume 3 by H.P. Lovecraft, Audio Realms
More Lovecraft from Audio Realms! This one contains “The Horror at Red Hook”, “The Statement of Randolph Carter”, “The Outsider”, and “Herbert West Reanimator”. The first Lovecraft collection from Audio Realms landed on our SFFaudio Essential List.

The Incredible Shrinking Man by Richard Matheson, read by Yuri Rasovsky, Blackstone Audio, Unabridged
Click here to listen to a sample.
A classic novel by Richard Matheson read by the mighty Yuri Rasovsky.

The Sailor on the Seas of Fate by Michael Moorcock, Audio Realms
The second of the original Elric saga from Audio Realms. If quality is half of the first one (Click here for the SFFaudio review of Elric of Melnibone) then this is a must-have.

Star Wars: The Dark Nest III: The Swarm War by Troy Denning, read by Jonathan Davis, Random House Audio, Abridged
The latest in the long-running Star Wars audio series.

Tales of Terror by Edgar Allan Poe, read by various readers, Blackstone Audio, Unabridged
Click here to listen to a sample.
Contains some of Poe’s greats – “The Tell Tale Heart”, “Murders in the Rue Morgue”, “The Pit and the Pendulum”, and others.

More exciting title announcements, this time fro…

News

More exciting title announcements, this time from Audio Realms, publisher of the SFFaudio Essential title The Dunwich Horror and The Call Of Cthulhu. This info comes from Fred Godsmark, the mind behind Audio Realms – in the coming months AR will be releasing a new Lovecraft title “every month during 2006!” Also he’s mentioned that he’ll be producing “a 10 volume set of REH [Robert E. Howard] stories in conjunction with Wildside Press, with artwork by Stephen Fabian.” Cool, cool news!

Available now:

The Shadow Over Innsmouth and Dagon
By H.P. Lovecraft; Read by Wayne June
3 CDs – [UNABRIDGED]
Published: December 2005
“The Shadow Over Innsmouth and Dagon, arguably the most mind provoking stories by H.P. Lovercraft, are read by Wayne June bringing to life the horrors from the mind of the Master himself, in a way that only he can.”

Imminently available:

Weird Tales Magazine
2 CDs or 1 MP3 CD – Approx 2.5
Published: Starting January 2006
Purchased one issue at a time of “short stories, along with poetry, verse and editorials.”

And coming soon:

Conan ???
By Robert E. Howard
Published: Approx. March 2006

Also, if you’re very quick you might just be able to take advantage of two cool preorder offers on the Audio Realms website…

The Sailor On The Seas Of Fate
By Michael Moorcock; Read by Jeffery West with music by Glenn Morrisette
Published: January 2006
“In the second of the original Elric Saga, the fabled albino emperor journeys in self exile through the seas, and the planes of the multiverse, to battle sorcerers and demons. His becomes a journey that gives him glimpses of both his past and his future and gives him the realization that perhaps he has litle choice as to his own path … that he truly a Sailor On The Seas Of Fate.”

@ just $25.95 including USPS Priority Shipping!

also…

H.P. Lovecraft Collection – Volume 3
By H. P. Lovecraft
Published: January 2006
4 more stories by the Father Of Modern Horror.
This volume includes:
“The Horror At Red Hook”
“The Statement Of Randolph Carter”
“The Outsider”
“Herbert West Reanimator”

@ just $19.95 including USPS Media Mail Shipping!

Posted by Jesse Willis

Review of Elric of Melniboné by Michael Moorcock

Science Fiction Audiobooks - Elric of Melnibone by Michael MoorcockElric of Melniboné
By Michael Moorcock, Read By Jeffrey West and Michael Moorcock
5 CD’s – 5.5 Hour [UNABRIDGED]
Publisher: Audio Realms
Published: 2003
ISBN: 097315960X
Themes: / Fantasy / Epic Fantasy / Magic / War / Gods /

If SFFAudio gave 5-star ratings, then Elric of Melniboné would definitely garner all five. I was so impressed with this audiobook that I wrote and thanked the director.

This audiobook reminded me that I need to be very careful with absolutes. In the past I’ve said that I dislike unabridged audio with music and sound in the background, but here one is that does it so perfectly that I have to amend my statement. The music here was carefully placed, and is an extremely effective soundtrack for the book. It is played at a sound level that was never distracting, yet had the same effect for me as a soundtrack has in a movie – it increased my emotional involvement. The audio sounded as good in the car as it did my headphones.

Elric, whose skin is the color of bleached bones, is the Emperor of Melniboné, but is not without rivals. In his manner, he is not quite what Melnibonéans expect. Though he’s smart and contemplative, the average citizen wants action. The brother of the woman he loves wants to rule, and Elric himself often wonders if Melniboné would be better off without him, but fights to keep the throne all the same.

Michael Moorcock wrote this story in a unique mythic style that makes it truly epic. There were times in the book where it felt like he was talking of the entire world as a whole, and other times when we see things from Elric’s point of view as he deals with gods and demons in scenes of real power.

Jeffrey West did a wonderful job reading this novel. He’s a fine reader, without question, and I can’t help but to think that an epic (though short) piece like this posed some challenges for him. He was first-rate, as was the entire production. This one goes in my permanent collection.

One further note: Michael Moorcock himself reads the introduction, which runs about ten minutes. It is not an “author’s introduction”, but is part of the story.

You can find this audiobook at Audio Realms, and they’ve got a sample you can listen to. (Real Audio required to hear the sample.)

Posted by Scott D. Danielson