Recent Arrivals

SFFaudio Recent Arrivals

Melting Stones by Tamora PierceFull Cast Audio releases an audiobook original! Yup, Melting Stones isn’t available in any format other than this audiobook. In fact, the novel was created “with specific voices in mind”, and directed for audio by Pierce herself. The novel’s description from the website:

This time the focus is on Evvy, the young stone mage Briar and Rosethorn befriended in Street Magic. She’s accompanied Rosethorn to Starns Island, where Rosethorn is to investigate a plant die-off. What they find is vastly worse, and leads Evvy into a wild adventure that features some of Tammy’s most fantastic characters ever.

Dreamsongs Volume 1 by George R.R. MartinFrom Random House, we’ve got Dreamsongs, the first of three volumes of audio containing a whole bunch of George R.R. Martin’s short fiction, arranged in sections corresponding to periods of his career. Each section is introduced by Martin himself, in his own voice, and the stories are read by an all-star cast of narrators. Definitely a must-have. I’m not sure why the powers behind great audio like this won’t list a Table of Contents anywhere on the inside or the outside of the packaging. It must be the same reasoning that prevents them for including maps in epic fantasy audiobooks.

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol. 23And here’s an Audible exclusive audiobook – L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol 23. These new writers must be thrilled to have an audiobook made of their work – and one of high quality to boot, judging from the list of narrators. The Writers of the Future is on it’s 23rd volume, and is still going strong. This audiobook is an unabridged reading of all the stories included in the print version. And Audible didn’t forget the Illustrators of the Future, either – after you purchase the audiobook, download the illustrations for the stories in PDF format. Bravo, Audible!

Posted by Scott D. Danielson

Scott D.

Reviews Editor, SFFaudio

One thought to “Recent Arrivals”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *